Being Sparrow: Chapter Two

I went walking through the park as I often did. Though this time something, or rather someone. It was her, Dallas, lying in the grass staring up at the clouds. I hadn’t seen her in so long, but I knew it was her. She was wearing her hair in a different style, and she had gotten contact obviously. I couldn’t tell if she couldn’t see me or she was to lost in thought to notice me. Which often happened back when I was alive. I couldn’t help but pull out my camera and begin to take pictures of her. I sound like a stalker don’t I? I mean well though, I’ve adored this girl since I was ten years old. I never had the guts to tell her how I feel. I knew her darkest secrets, I knew her fears, I knew what made her laugh, what made her cry. I always felt like the two of us were meant to be. How could I tell her this? What if she rejected me? All my life I’ve weighed the what ifs, so I guess I’m not much different from my father like I had thought.

I really should have ran after I got my shot but I couldn’t help but stand there staring at her. I prayed she wouldn’t catch me staring at her. She looked up and raised her eye brow as she eyed me. This meant she saw me, most of all she could see me. She was apart of the select few that could see ghost. How could this be? My palms started to become sweaty. I nearly dropped my camera upon the cement sidewalk.

I decided to man up and talk to her. This was my chance. Who knows maybe it would be my only chance. I wondered why she was back in Moonlight Falls. Maybe living with her grandparents in Lucky Palms wasn’t working out? There was only one way to find out.

Looking at her, started a flood of memories into my mind. She always made me smile just by looking at her. I couldn’t believe I was seeing her again in the flesh. Before, all I had to go buy was an old highschool yearbook, and photos I had taken of her the summer we visited Sunlit Tides.

“I can’t believe I’m seeing you again Dallas..” I said smiling from cheek to cheek. It was crazy she had this effect on me. No one else could make me this happy, which is why I knew she was the one for me.

“You’re a ghost.. What happened!?” Dallas said alarmed.

“I ate too many magic jelly beans. What are you doing back in Moonlight Falls?” I asked trying to change the subject of my death.

“I read online that there were many opportunities in the field that I’m interested in. Why didn’t you cross over?” She asked changing the subject back to my death. She knew how to read me always, even as a ghost.

“The reaper says I have unfinished business.. What field are you going into?” I asked curiously.

“The Paranormal Career.” As she said this, I got a little nervous. My palms began to sweat again, I was running hands through my hair as I did when I got nervous.

“So you mean you’re going to be a ghost hunter?” I mumbled out.

“Oh don’t worry I wouldn’t send you to the other side. I’m glad you’re still here.” She smiled. I nearly melted as she talked, but that was nothing new.

“Good. Do you have somewhere to stay?” I said with a nervous laugh.

“Well sort of. I rented the tear down beside the gypsy caravan. It’s nothing great, but I figure it’ll be fine for now.” When she spoke it sounded as though she was tasting each word before saying them. As though she needed to choose her words carefully.

“You don’t have to stay there if you don’t want to.” I smiled.

“Where would I stay then?”

“With me. I have all this room since my parents moved. As a ghost I don’t take up much room at all.” I was crossing my fingers behind my back in hopes she would agree to stay with me.

“I think I’d like that. Just until I get on my feet. And I’ll pay rent every month!” She was sounded so excited to stay with me. I got the feeling maybe she liked me. But I couldn’t be sure. Girls are complicated creatures for sure.

“You don’t have to worry about rent.” I stammered out. “What’s mine is yours.”

Dallas had asked for a ride to the science center so that she could fill out a job application for the ghost hunter career. I told her I’d wait for her outside.

I did everything I could to keep myself composed as I drove Dallas to the Science Center. I was going to make small talk with her on our way there, but then I remembered my mother always said, small talk is for small people. Dallas certainly not a small person to me. She nearly meant the world to me.

While Dallas handled her business in the Science Center, I decided I’d read one of the recipes I got from Egypt. Maybe I could cook dinner for Dallas. I didn’t know if she liked Shawarma or not, but it was worth a try. I had also planned to buy some more recipe books, while Dallas was staying with me I was going to make sure I treated her like a queen.

As soon as Dallas found out she was hired, she already had clients to help. I went on back to the house to listen to my multitab

Obviously Dallas was no one to mess with when she had that ghost hunter gun in her hands. I prayed that I never make her angry. Is it weird I thought she was cute in this outfit? Each of the spirits she caught were worth simoleons. Some were worth two-hundred or more simoleons.

Most women would be scared to death to do a job like this, but no Dallas. She feared nothing. And I mean nothing.

The reason Dallas was so tough and fearless was because she lived with her father and three brothers until she was sixteen. At sixteen she had to go live with her grandparents since her father had been put in jail for robbing the diner/market.

I figured so much for me cooking her dinner. It seemed she was going to working all night. I went ahead and made her the shawarma and left it in the fridge.

I didn’t need to look at the recipe while I cooked, I was pretty good at remembering recipes.

As I put the shawarma in the oven I heard Dallas walk into the house.

“Are you hungry Dallas?” I asked her as I looked up from placing the pan in the oven.

“A little bit. You’re still a great cook huh?” She asked as she pulled off her jumpsuit.

“I wouldn’t say great, maybe average.” I said hoping that she couldn’t see my ghostly blush.

“You’re blushing!” She squealed rushing over to pinch my cheeks.

After she let go of my cheek I asked her how did she like her first day. She seemed to like the career very much.

“This taste really good Sparrow!” Dallas said taking a mouthful of the sharwarma.

“Thanks, I’m glad you like it.” I said beginning to eat my own dinner. I had waited on touching my meal until I saw her reaction of how well she liked the dinner. After I washed the dishes I prepared a spare room for Dallas to sleep in. Then I sat up for the next few hours learning more recipes to cook for Dallas.

One thought on “Being Sparrow: Chapter Two

Leave a Reply

